Paperspine Blog


You will want to remember this one… by lipstickblogger
June 15, 2009, 8:11 pm
Filed under: Lipstick Blogger

Being the girly girl that I am I love to shop. Shoes, clothes, makeup, handbags, accessories, you name it – I love to shop. I find that as my life has evolved I have less and less time to spend shopping the old fashioned way, but thank goodness for the internet and the iphone where you can now purchase a dress and a pair of shoes with just a few clicks. Ahhhh, you gotta love the 21st century!

Loving to shop the way I do, I fell in love with the entire Shopaholic series by Sophie Kinsella. While I can’t relate to Rebecca Brandon’s level of financial irresponsibility, I did love watching her indulge. When I love an author, as I do Kinsella, I can’t wait to read their subsequent novels, so I was delighted to read Kinsella’s most recent novel, “Remember Me?”

lipstickblog

Lexi Smart finds herself waking up in a hospital bed only to realize that three years of her life have past. Stunned by the thought of losing three years of her life is slightly offset by seeing her shiny and sleek hair, perfect teeth, and amazing figure, however how Lexi is determined to figure out how she got this way. The last memory Lexi has was getting drunk with her best friends after losing out on a company bonus and being stood up by her loser boyfriend the night before her Dad’s funeral. Lexi begins to piece together the fragments of her life and comes to find out how she became, at age 28, a senior executive of her company, married to a handsome & successful man (who she has no recollection of whatsoever), and at home in a posh loft apartment with furniture and possessions she could never dream of affording.

Although her life appears perfect in the beginning, she discovers her former friends want nothing to do with her, her husband’s right-hand man tells her they are having an affair, and her little sister is constantly up to no good. I found myself unable to put this book down as Lexi sorts out her past and what happened in the missing three years. Both laughing and shaking my head in disbelief at how Lexi sorts out what happened.

The story can be a bit far-fetched at times, but as far as pure entertainment goes, this is a winner. Kinsella has a way of creating heroines in her book that are endearing, charming, and funny. I found myself rooting for Lexi and I think you just might be feeling the same way. “Remember Me?” is an awesome beach read that will not disappoint.

All the best,
Lipstick Blogger
lipstick

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

